## **Message from the President**

Yoshiyuki Nagasaka, Ph.D. President, Konan University



Since the establishment of Konan Gakuen in 1919, the educational philosophy of Hachisaburo Hirao has been the guiding force of Konan University. Konan University is dedicated to the advancement of higher education through teaching which encourages character building as well as physical well-being, and nurtures student's individual talents. Konan University fosters an environment promoting a well-rounded education, balancing academics with moral and physical education to help students develop into contributing members of society and future leaders.

Konan University celebrated its 60<sup>th</sup> anniversary in 2011 and continues to improve the quality of educational research and standards of

innovation. Situated in Kobe, a beautiful city rich in culture and history, Konan University is proud to cultivate independent and liberal minded students who possess qualities of dignity and respect, and who are outstanding in their ability to merge these qualities to enhance their individuality. Since its establishment, Konan University has educated nearly 3,000 students that have gone on to become company presidents in a wide range of industries. Our graduates are active and influential members of the Kansai business community, a comprehensive network which continues to reinforce the strengths of the university.

Dedicated to excellence, our mission is to provide a superior learning experience that meets the expectations of our students, their parents, and the wider community. Please visit our campuses and experience firsthand what Konan University has to offer you.

Konan University is a private university offering four graduate programs, a professional graduate program, and eight undergraduate faculties, in addition to a span of research institutes and educational research centers. Graduate schools include the Graduate School of Humanities, Graduate School of Natural Science, Graduate School of Social Science, Graduate School of Frontiers of Innovative Research in Science and Technology, and the Konan University Law School. Six of the eight undergraduate faculties are located on the compact Okamoto campus and include the Faculty of Letters, Faculty of Science and Engineering, Faculty of Economics, Faculty of Law, Faculty of Business Administration, and Faculty of Intelligence and Informatics. To the east and west of the Okamoto campus are the Hirao School of Management, housed on Konan University's Nishinomiya campus, and the Faculty of Frontiers of Innovative Research in Science and Technology on Port Island campus.

In 2019, Konan Gakuen will celebrate its 100<sup>th</sup> anniversary. Our vision, goals and strategic actions for Konan University over the next century aspire towards increased educational standards to further elevate our academic status and to continue to meet the demands of today's global society and to foster the leaders of tomorrow.

Sincerely, Yoshiyuki Nagasaka, Ph.D. President, Konan University